NOAA Announces Appointees to New Space Weather Advisory Group

NOAA Announces Appointees to New Space Weather Advisory Group

LOS ANGELES, CALIFORNIA. NOAA announced today the formation and members of the Space Weather Advisory Group (SWAG) that will advise the government on managing the risks of space weather to the nation’s infrastructure.

The SWAG was established by Public Law 116-181, the Promoting Research and Observations of Space Weather to Improve the Forecasting of Tomorrow Act of 2020, also known as the PROSWIFT Act. By statute, the SWAG will advise the National Science and Technology Council’s Space Weather Operations, Research, and Mitigation (SWORM) Interagency Working Group (IWG) on improving the ability of the United States to prepare for, mitigate, respond to, and recover from space weather storms. The SWAG will also advise on enhancing the transition of research to operations and operations to research; and developing and implementing an integrated space weather observation strategy.

An initial action of the advisory group will be to conduct a comprehensive survey of the needs of users of space weather products to identify the space weather research, observations, forecasting, and modeling advances required to improve space weather products. SWAG members will each serve a three year term.

    Appointees to the 2021 Space Weather Advisory Group

Commercial Providers:

Jennifer Gannon, VP Research and Development, Computational Physics, Lafayette, CO
Conrad Lautenbacher, Executive Chairman, GeoOptics, Inc., Dunwoody, GA
Seth Jonas, Principal, Lockheed Martin, Bethesda, MD
Kent Tobiska, President, Space Environment Technologies, Pacific Palisades, CA
Nicole Duncan, Heliophysics Mission Area Lead, Ball Aerospace, Boulder, CO


Tamas Gombosi, Distinguished Professor, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, MI
Delores Knipp, Research Professor, University of Colorado, Boulder, CO
Scott McIntosh, Deputy Director, National Centers for Atmospheric Research, Boulder, CO
Heather Elliott, Staff Scientist, Southwest Research Institute, San Antonio, TX
George Ho, Chief Scientist (Instrumentation), Johns Hopkins University Applied Physics Laboratory, Laurel, MD


Mark Olson, Senior Engineer and Manager, Reliability Assessments, North American Electric Reliability Corporation, Atlanta, GA
Michael Stills, Retired, (former) Director, Flight Dispatch, Network Operation Control Center, United Airlines, Ashburn, VA
Craig Fugate, Chief Emergency Management Officer, One Concern, Gainesville, FL
Tamara Dickinson, President, Science Matters Consulting, Washington, DC
Rebecca Bishop, Principal Scientist, Aerospace Corp., El Segundo, CA